Devastation

The second page of the journal.

TOPIC:

This describes how I felt and my reaction at the news my sister was brain-dead. Each element is specific the knotted neck and hat/brain; the empty eyes and bleak face; the lack of color and presence of words are all purposeful. Although when I read it now – it only barely touches on the actual feelings of that moment.

SUGGESTED ACTIVITY:

Think of a moment which devastated you – represent it on a page. Use color or words or scribble. It doesn’t have to make sense it just needs to convey that one moment of devastation.

TECHNIQUE, SUPPLY & TOOL:

Acrylic     The background was prepared at the same time as the previous page (see above).

Watercolor    The face was prepared on separate paper using Winsor & Newton watercolor and Derwent watercolor pencils. It was cut and collaged to the paged.

Collage     Torn paper on the side was a newsprint photo of a rug. The other images are patterns from a fashion book.

Pen      The lettering was completed with Letraset Promarker and Sakura Micron pens.

Pastel    Pan pastels were applied sparingly to the images neck and face.

2 thoughts on “Devastation

    • Art is always healing. It’s funny – I learned that by accident. But, I have seen it work over and over again. I love art and all art does and stands for. Thank you for your sympathies.

Leave a comment